Raspberry Pi – Model B

Last week, a friend of mine introduced me to a fascinating piece of computer hardware, a Raspberry Pi. The Raspberry Pi is a fully functional computer on a board about the size of a credit card. With the OS loaded onto an SD memory card, the Raspberry Pi (also known as “RPi”) can be initially booted from power-up to first login prompt in less than 30 seconds.

My two older sons are very much computer gadget fans. One has an iPhone and the other has an iPod, they both share a Windows system to access the web and various game sites they enjoy, and they occasionally get to use accounts on my Mac.

The day Rich introduced me to the RPi, my curiosity was piqued and I went home and told the kids about it. They both had been asking for a new computer for weeks and I thought this would be a nice option for them. Something that’s not going to cause a brownout across half the county when it’s turned on and one that doesn’t run all the latest games out of the box. I saw this as a chance for them to buy their own computers and also learn quite a bit of skill they could apply later in school and out in the working world. Something I can use to teach them some of the nuts and bolts and bytes of building new computers and using them for interesting projects for school and around home.

That’s all I have to write for now as it is getting quite late. Keep checking back here from time to time for more info on the RPi as I become more familiar with it and start building some projects for it.

Later,
Keith

Leave a Reply

